Arkansas is a state that definitely loves its food. For instance, Arkansas is the country’s largest producer of rice. In addition, it is also home to Tyson, who produces the majority of the nation’s chicken. While most Arkansans try to eat healthy, it can be difficult without the right advice. This is why many people seeking a career in Arkansas choose to become a registered dietitian.
Arkansas requires anyone wishing to work as a registered dietitian to be licensed by the state. In order for you to become licensed in Arkansas, you must meet the requirements that were outlined in Dietetics Practice Act 392 of 1989.
right for you.
(It’s fast and free!)
How to Become a Dietitian in Arkansas
- Age: Arkansas dietitians must be 18 or older.
- Education: Either a bachelor’s degree from an accredited institution or a degree from a university that offers programs related to dietitian work like food systems management or dietetics is required. If you were educated in another country, you must prove your degree is the equivalent of a bachelor’s degree.
- Experience: 900 hours of supervised work experience under the direction of a Registered Dietitian is requisite.
- Experience: It is required that prospective dietitians complete at least 900 hours of work experience in dietetics and human nutrition under the supervision of a registered dietitian.
- Exam: You must pass an exam that is deemed acceptable by the Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board. This is usually the certification exam administered by the Commission on Dietetics Registration (CDR).
- Registration: You need proof that you have become a registered dietitian with the CDR.
- Citizenship: You must be able to work legally in the United States.
- Continuing Education: Dietitians who are licensed in Arkansas must complete 12 hours of continuing education every year to maintain their license.
- Disclosure: If you’ve ever been convicted of a felony, you must disclose it in your application.
- Reciprocity: Dietitians who have already received licensure in another state can provide proof of their credentials to receive their Arkansas license.
- Licensure: If you meet the eligibility requirements, you can send your application to the Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board. Included in your application should be proof of your registration with the CDR and a $110 application fee. Your application must be notarized. Approval will usually happen within three weeks.
Degrees Related to Dietitians
Degrees that are useful to prospective dietitian are those focused on correct human nutrition. While many dietitians specifically focus on dietetics, it is also possible to enroll in programs for clinical nutrition, food systems management and food and nutrition.
Major Cities in Arkansas
- Little Rock is the largest city in Arkansas and was originally settled by French explorers.
- Springdale is the home of Tyson Foods, Inc.
- Alma is known as the ‘Spinach Capital of the World’ because it produces up 60 million pounds every year.
- As you would expect, Hot Springs is home to many hot springs, and the health benefits of mineral water are well known.
What Does a Nutritionist Do?
- Nutritionists will analyze and track their clients eating habits in order promote healthier food and nutrition choices.
- Nutritionists can develop meal plans for individuals. They can also develop meal plans in larger institutions like hospitals and schools.
- Some nutritionists work as educators, giving talks about proper nutrition and health food consumption.
Dietetic technicians work in support of registered dietitians and perform many of the same job functions. Nutritionists also provide similar services to dietitians. Food management workers that work in meal planning are closely related to dietitians as well.
Employment Numbers for Nutritionists and Dietitians in Arkansas
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, there 520 dietitians working in Arkansas as of May 2015. The majority of these dietitians work in the Little Rock area.
Salary Ranges in Arkansas
As with most states, your salary as an Arkansas dietitian will depend on where you choose employment. In Little Rock, for example, the average yearly salary is $51,340. In Springdale and Fayetteville, the salary for licensed dietitians is $60,240.
Arkansas Dietitian Links